Established in 2001, the Ashden Awards are globally recognised as a mark of excellence in the field of green energy. 

2018 Ashden Awards longlist here

Applications for the 2018 Ashden Awards are now closed.

Are you part of a scheme – or know of one – that’s breaking new ground in renewable energy generation, reducing energy demand, increasing access to energy, or encouraging more sustainable forms of transport?

If so, we’d love to hear from you.

Why enter?

  • A global platform to showcase your work
  • Prize fund of up to £20,000
  • Broadcast-quality films and media materials
  • Tailored support to help you expand


Answers to all the most common questions around the Awards can be found here.

Eligible countries

See a list of eligible countries here.

DFID has been pleased to support the International Ashden Awards for the last four years, helping game-changing, sustainable energy companies, technologies and leaders to grow their transformational work.

Gemma May Sustainable Energy Adviser, UK Department for International Development (DFID)

Meet the judges

We are particularly honoured to have won an Ashden Award as this really is the most prestigious accolade in the alternative technology area. In a rapidly changing world Ashden have consistently shown that their collective fingers are very much on the pulse of what is new and transformative.

Sam Duby, SteamaCo 2015 Award Winner

See more from our winners

2018 Awards timeline

Application / Closed

The application process for the 2018 Ashden Awards has closed, but you can now register your interest for the 2019 Ashden Awards. Applications will open in autumn 2018.

Register interest in 2019 UK Awards Register interest in 2019 International Awards

Longlist / Announced

The longlist for the 2017 Ashden Awards has been announced with a total of 48 green energy organisations and programmes in countries as far-flung as Mongolia, Tajikistan, Liberia, Lesotho, Guatemala and Nepal.

View 2017 Awards longlist

Finalists / Announced 14/03/2018

If you are shortlisted we will get in touch to arrange a visit to assess your work – the visit usually lasts most of a day and involves two or three people from Ashden and sometimes a representative from the funder of the award.

Winners / Announced 07/06/2018

The winners of the 2018 Ashden Awards will be made public in the first week of June 2018, to find out more about 2017's winners click below. 

Sir David Attenborough spoke at the 2010 Ashden Awards, "What an inspring evening! I am humbled by what I've seen from these Award Winners. I congratulate them and thank the Ashden Awards for occasions like this".

Ashden Awards Ceremony

Held at the Royal Geographical Society in central London and open to everyone, the Awards Ceremony is a highlight of the sustainable energy calendar and in 2017 took place on 15 June.

During the evening short films on the winners are broadcast, followed by presentation of the Awards. A private reception is held for special guests.

The awards are given in different categories and in 2017 there was a new international Powering Business Award recognising efforts by enterprises or programmes which provide or use clean energy or energy efficiency in the provision of goods and services through business activities.

A full auditorium at the Royal Geographic Society